Olympic Cycling Time Trials in Richmond Borough

Here are our photos from the Men’s Time Trial… and as usual not everything is pin sharp focus (in fact less than half are in good focus!)… that’s why there are professional photographers who earn real money for doing this well.

Bradley Wiggins on his way to GOLD

Go Wiggo Go!

Chris Froome wins an olympic BRONZE medal

Chris Froome (GB) once again

A splash of GB colour, Wiggins style

Assan Bazayev, Kazakhstan

Nazaret of Brazil

Tomas Aurelio Gil Martinez from Venezuela


The British Police and the Danish Cyclist (Lars Ytting Bak)

Lars Boom (Netherlands)

Duarte Arevalo of Colombia

Jack Bauer, New Zealand

Poland – Maciej Bodnar

Vinokarov from Kazakhstan

Edvald Boasson Hagen, Norway

Edvald Boasson Hagen of Norway (again)

Ramunas Navardauskas – Lithuania

Denis Menchov, Russia

Westra, from the Netherlands

Vasil Kiryienka of Belarus

Vasil Kiryienka of Belarus (again)

Michael Rogers (Australia) with his Kangaroo Mascot

Michael Rogers – Australia (again)

Gustav Larsson – Sweden

Bert Grabsch of Germany

Chris Froome of Team GB, with his entourage

Chris Froome (GB) – the road to Bronze

Marco Pinotti of Italy

Sylvain Chavanel of France

Sylvain Chavanel of France (again)

Taylor Phinney USA, and a shot of the crowds

Taylor Phinney USA (again)

Tony Martin of Germany (World Record Holder in Men’s Time Trial)

Bradley Wiggins arrives

Wiggins up close

the crowd goes wild for Wiggins!

the Beeb didn’t have to fight for position like the rest of the cameramen around

The first two road races were spectacular to watch coming through our towns, and I learned so much about the sport that I hadn’t realised.  It turns out that it’s not just riding the bike fast, there are a huge amount of tactics – and we saw those play out very differently for Team GB in the Men’s and Women’s Races.  The final 1km of the Women’s Race, where Lizzie Armitstead was vying for gold, silver or bronze was as about as exciting as any moment in sport I can remember.

The Schedule

First of all, the schedule.  As you probably know, there are rehearsals on Tuesday 31st between 10am and 12noon where the competitors familiarise themselves with the course.  The real events happen on Wednesday 1st.  (note – there’s more of the Men’s race in the Borough, so you may want to skip down a bit…)

Women’s Time Trial: Weds 1st August, 12.30pm (29km)

The race starts at 12.30pm at Hampton Court Palace – and then heads out of the Borough to Esher, Cobham before heading back via Thames Ditton to Hampton Court Palace (via Hampton Court Road which is the one that runs between Hampton Court and Bushy Park) just after 1pm.

So although most of this race happens outside the Borough, the final sprints will be here!     It’s a single lap racing against the clock, but since the competitors are staggered by 90 seconds there should be plenty of time to see the riders and take some good photos.

Official 2012 Route map

Team GB Schedule  – Women

These timings are approximate… we suggest you enjoy the whole race and not just turn up at the exact predicted minute for these riders!

  • Lizzie Armitstead starts at 12.52, so should be back in the Borough along Hampton Court Road around 1.22pm.
  • Emma Pooley starts at 12.57, so keep an eye out around 1.27pm.

Going For Gold – Women

The main contenders for the medals in the Women’s Time Trial are:

  • Emma Pooley (GB) – 2010 World Time Trial Champion and former British Road Race and Time Trial Champion
  • Kristin Armstrong (USA) – Winner of the 2008 Olympic individual time trial and  World Time Trial Champion in 2006 & 2009
  • Judith Arndt (Germany) – World road race champion in 2004 and 2nd in the Olympic road race 2004

Linda Villumsen of New Zealand is also a good bet… and let’s not forget our silver medalling Lizzie Armitstead (GB)!


Kristin Armstrong won in 37min 34.82sec, beating silver medallist Judith Arndt of Germany by more than 15sec.  So our predictions weren’t bad… but Emma Pooley came in 6th and Lizzie Armitstead was 10th.

Men’s Time Trial: Weds 1st August, 2.15pm (44km)

Starts 2:15pm at Hampton Court Palace, heads out of the Borough, but then returns for the last few kilometres.

  • over Kingston Bridge (around 3pm)
  • down the Kingston Road to Teddington (3.03pm)
  • along Strawberry Vale to Strawberry Hill
  • along Waldegrave Road past Marble Hill House and St Mary’s University back to Teddington (3.07pm)
  • and then through Bushy Park
  • to finish at Hampton Court Palace.
Again, it’s just one lap, a race against the clock.

Official 2012 Route map

Team GB Schedule  – Men

These timings are also approximate… we recommend you enjoy the whole race and not just turn up at the exact predicted minute for these riders!  We are doing our best to work out the times from scant information, and have no idea whether Wiggo will be 10 minutes faster than the ‘expected’!

  • Chris Froome starts at 3.00pm so should be heading over Kingston Bridge towards Teddington and Strawberry Hill around 3.45pm
  • Bradley Wiggins starts at 3.07pm so should be heading our way around 3.52pm

Going For Gold – Men

The main contenders for the medals in the Men’s Time Trial are:

  • Bradley Wiggins (GB) – the first Briton to win the Tour de France, and holding 6 Olympic medals in track cycling
  • Fabian Cancellara (Switzerland) –  the defending Olympic champion with four world titles.
  • Tony Martin (Germany) –  the current world title holder

Team GB’s Chris Froome is also a good bet… and former world champion Cadel Evans (Australia) has had to withdraw

The History

Although Road Racing has been part of the Olympics for a century for men, it debuted as a women’s event in 1984 (Los Angeles).  However it wasn’t until the 1996 Atlanta Olympic games that the individual time trial became an official sport, and it arrived simultaneously for both men and women.


Duarte Arevalo of Colombia